No Breakfast

poached-egg

What started my interests in breakfast was looking at the hundreds of images of animals on cereal boxes,  it was enough to make me crave for those delicious sweet munchies. But it is a beloved meal that I no longer take these days.

Growing up during my childhood, I had all kinds of unhealthy snacks for my morning meal, it was usually ‘snacks’ not a proper meal. I remember taking sweet biscuits, left overs from yesterday night, yet I was never given a decent meal. Both my parents had freshly made bread and usually vegetables, however none was ever given to me. Only, in rare occasions when guests came over was I given, or when there was a holiday.

Just think for a minute, I was only given a decent meal, when guests/relatives used to come over, or when there was a public holiday, the rest of the days, I just ate whatever snack I could find, and it was mostly unhealthy stuff like biscuits. It sounds like the script of harry potter novel, but this was my reality.

On the rare occasions I got the chance to have my favorite breakfast, which is perfectly cooked poached eggs, with toasted bread, it felt so heavenly. There are people who like morning food, to jump start the day, I was one of them. My parents always gave me ‘excuses’ like there is no need to have any morning meal, which may be the case, but to neglect my needs by not giving me any meals, is abuse.

Leave a Reply

