Sunny Country

20170316_111218

It wasn’t on my radar, until I looked on the map to see what other options I had. This was another country that had no prior visa requirement, which means I can easily go there, and the plane ticket was quiet cheap, due to the large number of tourists.

I didn’t know what to expect when I had planned to go to Sri Lanka, an island nation south of India. I already had a blast being in Bali, and was reluctant to go to the south asian region, expecting dirty broken roads, selfish people, and not much to see. Things completely changed, when I was seated in a large jet in the airport, it was literally filled with tourists from all over the world.

That was the most shocking aspect, I never realized a country that was only a couple of hours away from us would have more western tourists than what I had seen in Bali. I was surprised that a country, whose GDP is lower than us, would have excellent roads, latest traffic signals, higher quality infrastructure than us. Travelling around was easy due to the affordable public transport system. Food, hotels were all cheap, no wonder hordes of tourists were coming there.

People are laid back, with curiosity and a smile, practicing a peaceful religion, and respecting their culture and values. Population is very low compared to us, I rarely saw selfish bitches that I see regularly in my own country. It was a trip that I am glad to have taken it, with so many scenery, animals, culture, food, oceans and plenty of sunshine.

Leave a Reply

